no doubt a cool toy!

Playing around with this dandy gizmo has been a hoot! It is a powerful and fun tool. Whether it can revolutionize teaching and learning is still an open question in my mind…one I look forward to answering with my colleagues.

I attempted to post this from the WordPress app, which after some tinkering still seems to be buggy, so I caved and came over to the website. Still, classes can and do use blogging in all sorts of creative ways, and I have every confidence that doing so in class via the iPad would be much less cumbersome than firing up seventeen laptops! Like Dave, I like the “instant on.”

In terms of drawbacks, the iPad’s inability to run more than one program at a time seems to be its greatest weakness. Toggling back and forth between apps/software seems more ungainly than it need be.

More later and Happy New Year, all! 🙂

2 Responses

  1. I’ve enjoyed working with iPad, but find it lacking the functionality that would really be a knockout for me in class.

    I’d love to have a device that accessed FAweb while I roved the room and checked student homework. It would be great to enter those grades as a see completion, but FAweb doesn’t work as well with Safari and Firefox isn’t supported on the iPad.

    The Calendar function seems great; an awesome way to schedule meetings with students on the fly, and an interface that truly might lead me to abandon my paper copy of the Hopper. Too bad it doesn’t work for us to use this app.

    I, too, have found the iPad to be an excellent media viewer, but was regularly stumped on ways to create content with the device. iWork would facilitate manipulating documents, and I’d love to see this suite in action.

    I think the iPad shows its greatest strength as a reference and visualization tool. Wolfram Alpha is amazing on this device. Likewise Wikipedia, Google Maps, Google Earth, The New York Times, TED lectures, etc.

    For use in class, I’d love to investigate the possibilities of equipping each of my student groups with an iPad and Wolfram Alpha to work through more challenging problem-solving scenarios. The form factor of the iPad is perfect for sharing ideas in this context.

  2. For this year’s European history class I really wanted to make sure I was up on the French Revolution, so I read Simon Schama’s massive tome “Citizens: a Chronicle of the French Revolution” (a shame it wasn’t available on kindle, as it would be even more iPad compatible!) It was fantastic to have easy access to google for cross-checking of facts, biographies, and events. This seems like it would be a great reading strategy for kids… not to mention, handy to have close to hand in class!

Leave a Reply

